Federation Volunteers Celebrated

Published on 12 June 2018


Robyn Moore has been one of Australia’s most in-demand speakers for 25 years. Brought up on sheep and cattle stations, Robyn was a “Wireless Child”…so she loves “The Power of the Word”.

Robyn’s voice has been heard in most homes in Australia in commercials, in Animation Series seen internationally and in Australia’s longest running radio show, ”How Green Was My Cactus”…for 33 years.

She is a passionate Australian and also loves being a volunteer.  She is an Ambassador for the Australia Day Council (visiting Corowa a few years ago), The Australian Childhood Foundation, National Ambassador for Dragons Abreast Australia and has been National Patron of Make-A-Wish Australia for 25 years. Robyn was the 2015 “Hall of Fame Award” winner and the “2016 International Make-A-Wish Volunteer”.

Robyn is thrilled to be returning to Corowa, the Home of Federation…and feels very privileged to honour all those volunteers who literally “hold the Community together”. Robyn is excited to share her story and passion at the Federation Council Volunteer Recognition Celebration. The event will honour local individuals, groups and organisations that help to make the Federation community a great place to live.

In the lead up to the nomination period finalising, Federation Council Mayor Pat Bourke is reminding residents to nominate individuals and community groups who deserve to be celebrated.

“We are lucky to have so many people in our community that selflessly give their time to sporting clubs, community groups, local events and projects,” Mayor Bourke said.

“The Volunteer Recognition Celebration is a great way to recognise those that volunteer for their enormous contribution to our community.

“There is no win or lose, it is simply a way to say we appreciate and thank those that give to their community.”

Community volunteers range from parents who help in the sports canteen each weekend, to people who drive the elderly to their medical appointments and community groups that provide meals to those less fortunate and events safe for all those attending.

Council will be hosting the celebration event for all nominees at the Corowa RSL Club on Sunday 15 July as a way of giving back to the people who give the community so much.

Nomination forms are open until 5:00 pm Tuesday 22 June 2018.