Our Organisation


Federation Council was proclaimed on 12 May 2016, following the amalgamation of the former Corowa Shire and Urana Shire Council’s.

This announcement, made by the NSW Premier at the time Mr Mike Baird, was another step in the local government reform process. This was an extensive process, designed to strengthen the local government sector in order to meet the needs of communities into the future.

A total of 19 new councils have been created to date and it is expected that these new councils will be more sustainable, with better infrastructure and improved service delivery.

An Administrator (Mr Mike Eden) was appointed by the Minister of Local Government to oversee the implementation of the new Federation Council. The implementation phase was completed in September 2017, when the first election of the new council took place and nine Councillors were elected.